Home > Administrative Division
Bortala Mongol Autonomous Prefecture
2018-03-01 source:Gobal Times
Online Dictionary 

Full Name: Bortala Mongol Autonomous Prefecture 

Chinese Name: 博尔塔拉蒙古族自治州 (bó ěr tǎ lā méng gǔ zú zì zhì zhōu) 

Population: 450,000 

Area: 27,000 square kilometers (10,425 square miles) 

Nationalities: Mongol, Han 

Before the Western Han Dynasty (206BC-24AD) established the Protectorate of West Region in the vast land of northwest China, Bortala was inhabited by several nomadic tribes. During the Tang Dynasty (618-907), it was under the administration of Shuanghe Protectorate. The name of the prefecture, Bortala, was derived from Bolatuoer which was recorded in the history of the Yuan Dynasty (1271-1368).


Located in the northwest of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Bortala Mongol Autonomous Prefecture neighbors Ili Kazak Autonomous Prefecture in the south and is bordered by the Republic of Kazakhstan in the north and west.